Taking notes when backpacking

Looking for something to potentially  replace  the notebook and pen  on a backpacking trip ? About 4 or 5 weeks ago I became aware of a really interesting app for the Iphone  which I have been using for business and lately to put down my thoughts and observations when backpacking and walking.  This app is called Dragon Dictation and is a free.  This is an easy to use voice recognition app – you tap the dictation icon and speak and this is converted to text to send by text, email or as a social networking update (Facebook and Twitter).

I have just started using it to take notes which I can then use for editing  when back home, forming the basis of posts and notes for later on.  You need to speak slowly and clearly and I understand that strong accents  may make the translation to text difficult.  Whilst the translation is not prefect and you sometimes get hilarious translations of place names and technical terms, you do get  text which is reasonably accurate.  I do find that I need to do some light editing after, but it does saves typing notes up on the screen keyboard – my thumbs seem to get in the way !

I can then e-mail this to myself and copy it over to create part of a post.

If you prefer typing up notes on your Iphone, you could try Awesome Note or Evernotes, where you can add photos taken by your Iphone to your notes.  With Evernotes, you can record your thoughts but it does not translate to text . You can also use the WordPress app if looking to put your thought straight into a draft post – I don’t – as I like to view the lay out on a larger screen back at home.

If you enjoyed this post, subscribe to have future content delivered to you by email- see top of right hand side bar on this page and fill out box with your e mail address.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking notes when backpacking

  1. Maz says:

    Thanks for your comments on my blog. I use Awesome Note as the process of typing actually helps me compose. The dictation tool seems a good option however. I am at Geneva airport at the moment, but I will take a longer look at your blog in due course when I return. I would love to see what you think of the Power Lizard…

    • Hi Maz – good to hear from you. I bet the TMB was a great adventure. I look forward to hearing about it on your blog. I posted my initial thoughts on the Power Lizard – need some more nights in it – but I do think this is an excellent tent.

      All the best

      Mark

Leave a Reply

