Are these the most luxurious toilet facilities on a campsite?

Normally my bathroom facilities look like this on my backpacking trips.

Mary and I went away for the weekend in the motorhome, visiting a national trust property and taking it easy. Not the greatest of weather, but I was greatly impressed by the quality of the toilet facilities at Treversal campsite on the Derby/Notts border.  Heated flooring and individual cubicles with shower, toilet and washbasin which were impressively clean.  Probably the best I have ever seen and I include the facilities I have seen in Germany and Austria which are usually of a very high standard.

A bit of luxury on a pretty foul weekend- I wouldn’t have fancied being in a tent in the small hours of this morning, our van was rocking around like crazy in the wind and rain !

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are these the most luxurious toilet facilities on a campsite?

  1. surfnslide says:

    Blimey – on a campsite, I’d be scared to…..
    Well I think you know :)

  2. We’ve been to Teversal a couple of times with our motorhome Mark. They are rather nice facilities aren’t they?! Did you notice the dog shower? Dixie was none too impressed with that…

  3. Robin says:

    The facilities at Scotgate in Braithwaite, Cumbria are pretty special as well.

    • I have walked from Braithwaite but not stayed there. One to remember for next time I am in the area. Not such a high standard, but I like the facilities at the campsite at Boot, Eskdale and the excellent drying room.

  4. backpackingbongos says:

    Are you suggesting at the beginning of this post that you use your tent as your bathroom when wild camping??!

  5. McEff says:

    Sometimes, Mark, I yearn for the days when campsite luxuries consisted of a standpipe that sprayed water over your feet and a tin drum filled with dubious chemicals on which you sat in a hut while clutching a roll of your own paper. Then I see stuff like this and I think: Hmmm . . . Perhaps the good old days weren’t so good after all.
    Cheers, Alen.

    • Sounds very much like the facilities on most campsites in the early seventies when I was a lad and we used to camp as a family all over the UK. I think I prefer either the great outdoors or the luxury I found at this site :)

  6. GeoffC says:

    I prefer the first one for all that!.
    Any campsite with that opulence would surely be crowded.

Leave a Reply

