Getting & Keeping Hill Fit

Readers of my blog will know that I have been having a few problems of late with my knees.  According to my Doctor I need to strengthen my quadriceps to help support my knees.  I use to regularly go to the gym, but after my wife’s accident and subsequent complications, I found that I did not have much time.  I have joined a new gym with better facilities and have started recently a routine devised by one of the trainers for my knees and for getting anyone hill fit.

I thought it would be useful to post up the details for anyone who suffers from knee problems and also for gaining and keeping hill fit. It is suggested that the programme is completed   3 times a week, with a review 4 weeks after starting.

Stage 1 Warm up

5 minutes on exercise bike start at level 1 and increase a level every minute to level 5. Increase speed on each level

Stretches – hamstring and quads. Rotate body at trunk 10 times right and left side.

Stage 2 Gym Machines

Chest Press machine 2 sets of 10 reps at 35kg. Increase by 5 kg each week or by increased reps

Leg Press machine 2 sets of 10 reps at 70kg. Increase by 5 kg each week or by increased reps

Lateral Pull downs 2 sets of 10 reps at 35kg. Increase by 5 kg each week or by increased reps

Stage 3 Swiss ball and mat work

Step ups on half Swiss ball – 2 sets of 10 reps on each leg

Leg extensions using Swiss ball – 2 sets of 10 reps

Leg raises – lying on mat – raise legs to near vertical and lower to around 20 degrees and hold – 2 sets of 10 reps- This is a killer!!

Stage 4 Aerobic

Cross Trainer – 2 minutes steady at say 8 kph at level 1 increase to level 5 for 30 seconds flat out ( I can manage 20 kph) back to 2 minutes at level 1 and then level 5 for 30 seconds flat out . Repeat 6 times.  This serious gets your heart pumping J

Stage 5 Cool Down

Exercises as Stage 1

Hopefully after a few months I will be back to a much higher level of fitness, and no knee problems !!

If you enjoyed this post, subscribe to have future content delivered to you by email- see top of right hand side bar on this page and fill out box with your e mail address.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting & Keeping Hill Fit

  1. backpackbrewer says:

    Hi Mark,

    I seem to recognise quite a few of those exercise routines. I broke my knee in my 20’s and the physio I had devised a very similar set of exercises to yours. She also recommended swimming and swim walking as part of an overall knee fitness package for me. It worked really well but as with all old injuries they slowly come back as you get older. Now the temperature is starting to drop, my knee is beginning to protest a little in the mornings…..

    • Yes, just back from the gym. I do a little light swimming after this routine and relax in the steam room ! I hope your knee doesn’t flare up again – not much fun when you come off a mountain top.
      Mark

  2. -maria- says:

    My sister has broken her anterior crucial ligament three times (yes, three times – the original one in the right knee and both the original one and, seven years later, the reconstructed one in the left knee) so she has had three knee operations. The water running played a major role in her recovery process each time after the operations and also gym was important. She was doing exercises with the gym band as well (does not require going to the gym, can be done at home).

    If there is nothing major broken in your knees I would be quite positive you can get good results with your exercise program. My sister can do basically what she likes to, the knees are not restricting her in any way (ok, she is not a professional athlete but she can kneel, run, …).

    • Hi Maria, yes my knees have just some wear and tear and therefore gym work outs and swimming/water walking will help greatly. I am feeling the benefit already – although I have yet to do any backpacking since they became painful about three weeks ago.
      I am going to do a day walk probably on Sunday near a small range of hills near me with the Golite, to try it out – will also see how my knees respond as well.
      Have a good weekend
      Mark

Leave a Reply

