Long time since I posted

It is now a month since my last post. February is always completely manic with regard to work. In the last month I have stayed away no less than 16 nights. That works out every other day, including weekends.  It is difficult in this month to get any walking in, one because it is not fair on my family to be away all week and then say I off walking for the weekend.  Secondly, most of my last 4 or 5 weekends have been spent working as well, in fact I don’t know when I last had a day off , probably more than a month ago.

Even staying away has left me little time to catch up on this blog or my favorites blogs, so I apologise if it seems that I have abandoned the blogosphere.

I am typing this waiting for a plane to the USA on a week’s business trip, so I think I will have a bit of time for catching up reading other people’s blogs.  With a bit of luck I will find time toward the end of March to get some backpacking in.

In the mean time I and my colleague Andy will have a day off before work and we are going to drive from Las Vegas to Death Valley and the surrounding desert to have a look around, so I hope to post up something of our short trip.

All the best

Mark

 

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Long time since I posted

  1. Robin says:

    Have a good time. I saw the Grand Canyon and Yosemite on two business trips to the US. Made it worthwhile!

  2. Hi Mark, If you haven’t already done so in the past and get the chance to, drive out to the Hoover Dam as well. Well worth a look! Have a good time – seem to be feeling envious of just about everyone at the moment…

  3. Martin Rye says:

    Have a good trip and get out soon Mark.

  4. backpackbrewer says:

    ditto the above. I have been in jobs where I was away more than home and as you say the guilt trip starts when you begin to even think about getting out for a walk!

    It wont be forever and the prospect of a drive to Death Valley is a real bonus….enjoy 🙂

  5. Annie says:

    Nice to hear you are still in the land of the living – even if only just. Walked along Bognor seafront today, not quite your epic hike but worth the effort to pick up some sun and sea. My ideal for getting a therapeutic high!
    Don’t forget – a little bit of you time does wonders for the brain cells :-))

  6. surfnslide says:

    Hi Mark, frustrating when work intervenes with life but one of those necessary evils I guess – suffering a little of the same myself but nothiong compared the the graft you’re putting in at the moment. The life of the international jet-setting superstar I suppose 🙂

    Been to Death Valley myself and it’s awesome – height of summer and 130 degrees C plus! The Devils Golf Course is amazing as is Mosaic Canyon to name a few highlights.

    Hope you get chnace to see some stuff while you’re out there. Las Vegas is amazing in a decadent kind of way. Be interested to know what you do for a living that takes you over there, if you don’t mind me asking 🙂

    • Just one of things Andy. Very busy this time of the year. You are right LV is amazing in a sort of decadent way. I am over every year to attend a convention moves around the States each year. I and two others own an agronomy business focused on golf courses and sports turf. We mainly concentrate on UK and Europe, with some business in the Far East. Over here looking at new stuff in the industry.

      • surfnslide says:

        Interesting stuff Mark, enjoy the convention and hopefully a bit of leisure time as well. At least LV is an interesting place to visit but it’s never nice being away from the family

  7. -maria- says:

    Have a nice time in the US, looking forward to seeing your Death Valley pics!

  8. Jules says:

    Been a wee bit busy of late myself, but nothing like your schedule!

    Have a good trip to the States, then get back into the swing of things here enjoying the great British countryside.

  9. Louise says:

    Have a good trip Mark. Adrian was only saying a few days ago that there had been no blogs from you. Well let’s hope that a bit of spring might be in the air for you when you next venture out!! Take care

  10. Charles says:

    Hope you enjoyed your visit to Death Valley. Long retired now ,but have been on business
    trips to the States and managed to extract time to see the Grand Canyon . Glad I did.
    Good you have managed to combine business with a bit of pleasure . Helps to keep a bit
    of balance to things.

Leave a Reply

