Review of Fizan Compact Trekking Poles

Fizan Compact Trekking poles

After one of my Leki Trekking Poles basically fell apart, I looked around for some new ones. I decided on a pair of Fizan Compact Poles, attracted to both the claim that they are the lightest 3 section Trekking pole in the world and some good reviews on the product.

As I have suffered with knee problems in the past (I am glad to say that with a lot of work in the gym they bother me less and less) I find a pair of poles an essential tool for walking and backpacking.

Fizan, have been making ski and trekking poles in Italy since 1947 and were supposedly the first company to use aluminium in their products.

Specification

Made from Aluminium alloy 7001 – same as lightweight tent poles

Folded length is 58 cm ( 23”)

Maximum length 132 cm (52”)

Weight of each pole 158g (5.6oz)

EVA grip with a Neoprene strap

50 mm Trekking baskets

My experience with the Poles

I purchased these back in October 2011 and I have used these on all my walks both locally and out on the hills and fells since.  The poles are incredibly light to hold, to use and on occasions to carry. They are a joy to use and the weight means there is no fatigue when swinging them forward for hours at an end.

Despite being so lightweight (80-90g lighter than carbon fibre) they are strong being made of 7001 aluminium alloy and will take my weight (73 kg or 158 lbs) swinging on them.  They grips are comfortable as well as the neoprene straps attached to them.

The three section pole is easy to adjust.  They do not have ferrules, as the jointing mechanism is completely inside the pole. The only slight issue is the paint is easily scratched but this does not really worry me.

EVA grip and Neoprene strap

50mm Trekking baskets

Conclusions

Overall rating: 4.5/5

Price:   RRP £55.00 per pair.

What I like:  Great weight and price. Fatigue free use.

What I don’t like: Nothing other than the poles scratch easily.

This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Review of Fizan Compact Trekking Poles

  1. Fraser says:

    I have a pair of these too, bought a couple of years ago. Great value poles, highly recommended.

  2. Jules says:

    They look alright.

    Price-wise, is that £55 per pair? I’m not in the market for any myself having recently acquired a pair of Leki Makalu Corklite Speedlock (with the flick lock mechanism) that I’m very happy with. But for size, weight and packability these look good.

  3. surfnslide says:

    Timing is perfect Mark. I’m looking for a new pair of poles as I’ve been using my wife’s cheap, nasty and heavy ones. I was looking for a pair or carbon fibre poles but they are costly and I’ve always been concerned about breaking (rather than bending).

    These look a good bet and are as light as anything I’ve come across. My concern with Aluminuim poles has always been weight versus strength as I’m a clumsy so and so!

    • Well for me so far so good. Fraser from mcalisterium.wordpress.com has commented and said he has had his for a couple of years – so I guess they will last.

      • surfnslide says:

        Well worth a punt a £55 a pair. I’ll be ordering some tonight to try out on my upcoming trip to Rum at Easter

      • Glad I could help. Good price at £55

      • Fraser says:

        Yup, can’t fault them. The locking mechanism has been fine. I have a small kink in mine which I got early on when I stumbled when snowshoeing, but has not been problematic in any way. I noticed a slight powderyness when extending them for the first time this year, I assume this is mild corrosion of the internal aluminium, but again it’s not had any effect on performance. I’ve never dried them after use, so that may be worth considering. I’ve been thinking about stripping them down and coating the interior with wd-40 or similar to limit further corrosion.

      • Thanks for your input Fraser. I will look to clean down and apply some WD40 to the poles.

  4. swanscot says:

    These look good and I’m interested in new poles. My son just shook his head when he found me in the kitchen just now weighing my current poles on the weighing scales I use for baking. My current poles are approx 14 year old Leikis and weigh in at 230g (without baskets – which I removed a while back to pack the poles and now can not find!!) and pack down to a rather large 70cm. As we fly quite a bit they (and DH’s Blacks brand) are a pain to pack. When I’m hillwalking I only use poles on the descent (I walk with my hand on my hips going up steep bits), so am carrying this 460g+ for most of the day.

  5. Jules says:

    Just a thought about the WD40 comment – make sure, if you do, that in doing so you don’t stop the locking mechanism from working.

    As a lubricant, WD40 might prevent the locking mechanism from engaging properly if it relies on friction to work – you will be working against that!

  6. Randy says:

    These poles are great but not bullet proof. I have had a pair since August 2011 and use them most weeks hiking in Australia. However, 2 weeks ago I broke one as I was crossing a creek. As I was crossing it, I slipped and fell backwards. My pole was caught between 2 rocks and snapped it in 2 as I fell. I admit that the stress was probably extreme and most poles would have snapped. Thankfully, the store replaced the pole and I can keep on using these great lightweight poles. I had to use my older, heavier poles last week and noticed the difference.

    • Randy – thanks for stopping by and thanks for your observations. Reflecting on your comments I think that the Trekking baskets are quite small on these poles – whether that causes issues getting caught between stones I don’t know. I may try and fit some larger baskets to mine which hopefully avoids the problem you had. You are so right about feeling the difference between these and heavy poles.

      • Geoff e2e says:

        Mark
        I may be entering the conversation a bit late, but I have used Fizan Poles and think that they are excellent performers for the $. I bought mine in Melbourne before walking Lands End-JoG in 2010 some 1300miles. I wore out three sets of proper rubber tips (not the Fizans; the ones that come with the poles only last a few days). The poles had stress splits by the end of my walk but never failed. I have since bought new ones. I use them with open fingered cycle gloves, to prevent sunburn and blisters. My advice is to separate the shafts and clean them for storage, plus don’t store them done up tight which is probably why mine split eventually. You could also probably split them from overtightening and I wouldn’t be spraying them with WD40 as they may slip under heavy loading. I found that poles give more miles in your day, help balance, provide 4WD grip, you can fend off blackberries, dogs etc and help you over stiles. Apart from this, the upper body fitness is worth it alone, regards Geoff

      • Hi Geoff and thanks for stopping by. I welcome your comments as I can see that you have had far more experience with these poles than I have and probably most. I continue to be impressed by the strength and lightness of the poles and I am encouraged by your comments on the durability of these. Thanks for the info on storage and cleaning.

  7. swanscot says:

    Thanks to Geoff for reviving this post – and the comments appearing in my Inbox – as I was trying to remember who it was who had reviewed poles this spring. I hadn’t got around to replacing my old heavy Likis, despite saying I would way back in March. But since spending half of Saturday’s walk carrying 4 heavy poles on my rucksack (as Neil and I shared a backpack as a daysack) for over 1000m of ascent, I needed lighter poles. I’ve now ordered a pair! I may get a second pair for Neil if he wishes to replace his.

  8. andrea says:

    bought fizan poles 2 years ago. had the white powdery stuff coming out for the past year, and when i take them apart the metal is pitted alot. the locking mechanism often jams and i have to ask someone in the group to release them for me. unfortuntly for the first year i never thought to take them apart each time to clean them. sadly they only have a one year warranty. they”re the first poles i’ve used and make tramping with a heavy pack so much easier. but it would’ve been better if there had been a instruction with them regarding cleaning. i assumed aluminum doesn’t corrode. has anyone had same problem and found a solution to make them easier to open/shut/

    • Hi Andrea. I have had the same problem with them and try and take them apart and clean them up when I remember. I think that is the downside of twist and lock systems as opposed to flick lock systems on some poles. But the twist and lock poles are generally lighter in weight.

Leave a Reply

