Snow shoes in the Wolds

It is an absolute age since I did any walking, blogging or read anyone’s blog.  As with every year the  January to March period is extremely busy at work and I find myself with little time to do anything except work and sleep!  So first may I apologise as I do this time of year for not attending to any blogging.

This weekend I could have gone walking for a few days but decided that I would spend the whole Easter break tidying up the garden and our fields, which mainly consisted of burning stuff and taking stuff down to the recycling centre.  We are looking to move later on this year and it was a good time to start. I am going to the Cairngorms for a short trip next weekend in between visiting customers in Scotland and the NE of England, so that is something to look forward to.

Last weekend we had quite a large snowfall on the Lincolnshire Wolds with big drifts so I took a short trip out using my snow shoes which made the knee high snow easy to walk through.  It was bitterly cold with a fierce east wind.  Our county gets it first when the wind comes from that direction and with winds gusting 35 kph, the wind chill was in the region of minus 5 centigrade.  Here are a few photos.

photo (12)

snow1 photo (8) photo (9) photo (10) photo (11) photo (13) photo (14)

This entry was posted in General, trip reports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Snow shoes in the Wolds

  1. -maria- says:

    Looks – wintry!

    I see you are using a food thermos. Do you find it good? I’ve been thinking of getting one especially for winter day trips.

  2. Diane Tibert says:

    Lovely photos. All that snow was here not long ago. It actually feels strange to look at the fields and see now snow. But I’m sure I’ll get used to it. I love the snow, but I also love grass.

  3. backpackingbongos says:

    Good to see you back Mark, was wondering where you had got to!

    • James, sorry that I have not visited you blog recently. I will catch up. I am going up to the Cairngorms to meet up with Terry and Chris tomorrow for a short trip over the weekend so I am really looking forward to that. All the best.

  4. GeoffC says:

    Well wrapped up there, the nose guard would surely have been welcome in that biting easterly!.

  5. surfnslide says:

    Welcome back Mark! Some amazing drifts there. Must be bitter out there in Lincolnshire when the winds whip in from the East

  6. Great stuff – we’ve had our snowshoes out this year, too!

Leave a Reply

